Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Three Years and Counting

on 7 August 2011

Today is my three year anniversary of working for Starbucks.

It’s hard to believe that three years ago I was sitting in our cafe, filling out tons of paperwork, memorising new policies, and learning how to tidy the condiment bar and the layout of the back room. It was an overwhelming day, but a good day nonetheless.

The last few years certainly were a journey! I’ve had three and a half managers, some good, some bad, and some to be determined; multiple partners floated in and out of our little cafe; customers came and went; babies were born and other dear ones died. I’ve discovered awesome coffees and met great teas.

I’m not saying that things have always been, or will continue to be easy or pleasant. But I do love my job. I love the connecting with the customers, the rhythm and process of making drinks, the rush of creating a drink that makes a customer happy. It’s been a great three years, and I’m hoping to have many more before life sweeps me away from the little green siren.

“To inspire and nurture the human spirit – one person, one cup, and one neighborhood at a time.”

 

2 responses to “Three Years and Counting

  1. sbuxdrama says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary! I wish you were my barista!

    Also – I love the photo – how did you make it?

    • Thank you muchly! It would be an honour to have you as a customer. :)

      As for the picture, I edited through the PhotoShop Express Mobile app. The Pop filter is under the “effects” tab. Totally fun to do!

Leave a Reply

