Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Pay No Attention To The Band Behind The Curtain

on 23 May 2011

So, heard this awesome song the other day. Well, I really only heard a fragment, and ran to Google the lyrics before I forgot them.

What I saw…well, it shocked me. Really, really shocked me. THEM? THEY did a song like THAT? I was gobsmacked.

Thinking that maybe I was overreacting, I wasn’t careful when I started sharing this song. I let people see who sang it before they heard it…and I almost lost people.

Because, you know…it’s by…Pearl Jam.

Bear with me? Give it a listen? I promise, it’s Pearl Jam like you’ve never heard them before.

And yes, that’s a good thing.

Yes I understand that every life must end, 
As we sit alone, I know someday we must go, 
I’m a lucky man to count on both hands 
The ones I love,.. 

Some folks just have one, 
Others they got none, 

Stay with me,.. 
Let’s just breathe. 

Practiced are my sins, 
Never gonna let me win, 
Under everything, just another human being, 
Yeh, I don’t wanna hurt, there’s so much in this world 
To make me bleed. 

Stay with me,.. 
You’re all I see. 

Did I say that I need you? 
Did I say that I want you? 
Oh, if I didn’t now I’m a fool you see,.. 
No one knows this more than me. 
As I come clean. 

I wonder everyday 
as I look upon your face, 
Everything you gave 
And nothing you would take, 
Nothing you would take,.. 
Everything you gave. 

Did I say that I need you? 
Oh, Did I say that I want you? 
Oh, if I didn’t now I’m a fool you see,.. 
No one know this more than me. 
As I come clean. 

Nothing you would take,.. 
everything you gave. 
Hold me till I die,.. 
Meet you on the other side.

2 responses to “Pay No Attention To The Band Behind The Curtain

  1. klarusu says:

    Now then Ms Emma, don’t you be dissing on Pearl Jam there. I may have to re-educate you with their entire back catalogue ;-)

    • *giggle* Alright, to be fair, I couldn’t name another song they’ve sung. I also can’t think of another time I’ve gone “I really love this song from Pearl Jam!”

      I’m sure they are a lovely band. ;)

Leave a Reply

