Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Beyond The Door There’s Peace, I’m Sure

on 2 February 2011

It’s hard to write a blog post through a haze of tears.

But, this post had to be written. Needed to be written. Deserved to be written.

I’m hoping that my regular readers (and those who know me in real life) will recall all the times I’ve talked about this dear little customer of mine: a 15 year old girl who has spent the past few years fighting a rare cancer with determination and tenacity. For those of you who are new, please just take a minute to review this post about Ashley. If you have a little extra time, I’ve also mentioned Ashley and her family here and here.

Ashley is amazing. She fought to stay a normal kid through horrible circumstances. She stayed informed on her treatments, and made calls as to when to push through more pain, and when to take a break and just enjoy being with her family and friends. People rallied around her and her family with support, prayers, and wonderful memory-making gifts.

I can’t imagine how hard it is to watch your child waste away, to watch a disease slowly drain her of life, day by day, sometimes breath by breath. How hard it is to help her be a normal kid when nothing about her life is, or is ever going to be, normal. What it’s like to watch her siblings try to come to grips with the concept of death at a far too young age. For me, it’s been hardest to watch the effect of Ashley’s illness reflected in her father’s eyes. It was hard to hold him while he cried and told me the saddest news of all.

If you are reading this post, it means that Ashley is now out of pain. Her suffering is over…her fight is finished.

…and we are mourning her.

I called her dad earlier, and he said something that is so, so true. Her life had a purpose, and she did not leave us until that purpose was filled. She has touched hundreds and thousands of lives; she’s inspired countless people. Her purpose here is over…it is now time for us to learn from her life, and live the lessons she embodied.

Make the most of each day. Fight to be normal. Treasure memories. Make time for those you love. Never miss a chance to hug someone or brighten their day. Live. Laugh. Love. Like I challeged you all earlier this month:

Live with intention.

We love you, Ashley. <3

Would you know my name
If I saw you in heaven?
Would it be the same
If I saw you in heaven?

I must be strong
And carry on,
‘Cause I know I don’t belong
Here in heaven.

Would you hold my hand
If I saw you in heaven?
Would you help me stand
If I saw you in heaven?

I’ll find my way
Through night and day,
‘Cause I know I just can’t stay
Here in heaven.

Time can bring you down,
Time can bend your knees.
Time can break your heart,
Have you begging please, begging please.

Beyond the door,
There’s peace I’m sure,
And I know there’ll be no more
Tears in heaven.

Would you know my name
If I saw you in heaven?
Would it be the same
If I saw you in heaven?

I must be strong
And carry on,
‘Cause I know I don’t belong
Here in heaven.

 

6 responses to “Beyond The Door There’s Peace, I’m Sure

  1. mum says:

    Oh, Sweetie, I am so so sorry. But I am even more proud of you for your heart-condition. You will never know this side of Heaven the influence you had on Ashley’s life.

    All that comes to mind and heart is that wonderful, healing song by Graham Kendrick, “For this I have Jesus.”

    For the joys and for the sorrows,
    The best and worst of times,
    For this moment, for tomorrow
    For all that lies behind……
    For this I have Jesus.

    I love you too much,
    Mum

    • Aw, I love that song! I really do hope that we were a positive influence on her, and that we get to be a positive influence on her family through the next days, weeks, and months.

      I love you too! <3

  2. Lynoth says:

    ~hugs~ you know I’m always here for you

    • Thanks! It’s so weird to put something like this up online because most of my readers never met her…but because everyone can relate to the experience, I think it is helpful. At least, I hope it is. :)

Leave a Reply

