Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

A Friend Indeed

on 10 November 2010

Lately I’ve been thinking about what makes people friends. To be honest, I have one of the most eclectic collection of friends. Some of my friends get me because we are similar, and other get me because…well, I’m still not sure why they get me, but they do. And I get them. That’s the magic of friendship.

However, my friends don’t necessarily run in the same circles. They can appreciate each other, but none of them are BFFs in their own right. For many of them, I’m the only reason that they would ever meet, connect, or even acknowledge each other’s existence.

It’s a weird thing, when you think about it.

In fact, take a moment to think about it.

Think about all your friends. Think about why you know them, how you met them, how they interact with each other. You may be friends with some of them because they were friends with each other before. Or, maybe you are that link between people, a person who brings unlikely others together.

So what makes people friends? I don’t know. Trust, shared experiences, similar thoughts, these all play a huge role in most friendships. But I’m also friends with people with whom I don’t really share experiences, who don’t think the same way I do about major issues. Besides, I don’t necessarily trust all my friends.

I don’t know what it is then; I don’t know what makes some people friends and others not. However, I do know that when you find a good friend, you better hold on to them, treat them well, and work at growing your friendship.

A good friend is hard to find.

 

6 responses to “A Friend Indeed

  1. stevepear says:

    I concur with your sediments! Whilst I get over the fact that I’m not your BFF, I think it would be fair to say the reason we are friends is because you make me smile and your one of my fave tweeterific tweeterers

    • Oh, I think you’ve hit on something there- you make me smile too, as do most of my friends! I don’t think that our human nature allows us to get too friendly with people who don’t make us feel happy at least some of the time. Too, we have the shared interest of coffee, and if sharing coffee doesn’t make people instant friends, then what else will? :)

  2. Catherine says:

    You are SO right! It’s so interesting to me how friendships come about. Sometimes they are just random–other times they result from other friendships (one of my best friends, for example. I met her through a really good friend). So you never know!

    All I know is, without friends, I’d be way less happy and able to cope with stuff, if you know what I mean ;)

    • I do know what you mean! I don’t think that there really is a set “formula” for friendship, which is good and bad at the same time. But we do need all sorts of friends in life to help us cope, for sure! :)

  3. mum says:

    Your grandmother always said that a true friend is one who defends you when you aren’t there to defend yourself, and won’t let anyone say anything bad about you. Good advice, I think!

    Anyway, sing with me…”and a girl’s best friend is her mother!”

    Love you tooooo much…
    Mum

    • Excellent advice from grandma! It’s very true; what really matters is what people say/do about you when your back is turned.

      And of course a girl’s best friend is her mother! I wouldn’t have it any other way. :) Love you!

      <3

Leave a Reply

