Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Adding Some Flavour

on 18 October 2010

So, Starbucks released new flavours for VIA this week: mocha, caramel, cinnamon spice, and vanilla.

Now, you all know that I’m not much of a VIA fan, but I’ll do my best! Everyone in our store agrees that mocha is the best, I really like the caramel in warm milk, the vanilla is *really* sweet, and the cinnamon spice needs to be over ice cream or in an apple pie. Whew!

Oh, and because I’m not good with VIA descriptions, please head over to Sarah’s blog and read all about her awesome VIA taste test. What else can I say about the new VIA?

Hmmmmmm….

Oh. I know. Guess who got to draw the chalk board? That’s right- ME! Check it out!

 

Look! I even did better on the Siren this time then I did on the Anniversary sign.

I don’t know who designed this sign, but I love how cute it is. Did you see the sparkles around the word “instant”?

Yeah, that was fun to do.

Okay, that’s enough Starbucks for the moment! Have you all tried the new VIA flavours? What did you think about them? Good thoughts or not-so-good thoughts, leave them in the comments!

6 responses to “Adding Some Flavour

  1. Fox says:

    Masterful work, my dear. Simply masterful! And I was gonna ask you about those VIA things. They’re selling like mad at the local stores here. Once two ladies in front of my started fighting over the last ones. I shouted my order to a barista staring wide-eyed at the confrontation so she could discreetly vanish and have it be in the name of work. (and get my drink ready faster, of course).

    So how bout that mocha stuff? Worth actually buying? Or no?

    • Why, thank you! *takes bow* :) Wow! Crazy story; wish our store could create demand like that. Good problem solving skills there. Win-Win! :D Our biggest problem here is that people don’t want to buy a product, they want US to make their drinks. Just last night I had 3 separate customers insist that I make them the flavoured VIA. I even took them over to the display to show them that VIA is a product not a menu drink, and they still just said “No, I don’t want to buy anything. Just make me a caramel VIA.” *facepalm* Caramel latte, coming right up!

      The VIA mocha is the favourite flavour at our store. It’s nice, a bit too sweet for me, but then again that’s just me. Really, I’m not sure how to answer you. VIA has an odd aftertaste; you either like it or you don’t. I would be inclined to think that you would not like the mocha VIA (besides, it doesn’t come with foam), but I could be totally wrong. Not much help, I know, but so far I haven’t been able to pinpoint concrete indicators of why certain people *love* VIA while others don’t.

      So there you go- no real answer, but something to think about! :)

  2. Fox says:

    So… no foam is a bummer. But, I will try it. I have massive green on my SBUX card (WHICH I CAN NOW USE WITH MY BLACKBERRY!) so I might as well, eh? :)

  3. Fox says:

    I cannot use the BB app. It is not out for the 9300 Curve. :(

    Also, it appears that few places accept the BB barcodes right now. Shame. I tend to forget plastic. I never forget my phone.

    • Aw, sad news about your BB incompatibility! I’m sure they will fix that soon.

      As for the stores that take this form of payment, I think that I scooped Starbucks on this announcement. We found out that it would work by accident, but there’s been no formal announcement concerning the software update. I’ll try to get a picture of the new scanners; basically if your stores have the new scanners, then the new form of payment should work.

      In the meantime, you could always get an iPod…. :D

Leave a Reply

