Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

The Smell of Starbucks In the Fall

on 5 September 2010

Ah, Fall. There’s nothing like it- crisp, cold air, riotous colours of leaves, pumpkins, apples, bonfires…yeah, I really don’t like Fall so that’s as poetic as I’m going to get.

However, I do love it anytime Starbucks decides to unveil new drinks and rollout new merchandise, so I’m excited about Fall. First, let’s start out looking at the new Starbucks products (for those of you too busy to notice or too far from a Starbucks to see the new goodies!).

(Quick note: I’m going to post these pretty small just to save room. Click to enlarge!)

First up: FOOD! Sorry that it’s a little blurry: I was so excited to see these that I was shaking!

YUMMY!!!!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Now, check out our cute display tables:

This display took forever to set up- we had a little plexi mixup. But isn't it pretty?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Decaf Espresso! Finally, a useful use for those beans!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

This table isn't quite set up properly, but you can get the gist.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Now, let’s talk about tumblers:

Removable leather sleeve= bracelet for Emma. :)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Emma wants. But it's metal, only 12 ounces, and $15. So, it's not going to happen.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

These...are kinda weird. The handles are suede. No really, suede. We aren't too sure about them....

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Sooo cool- that's burlap in there!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Look at those pretty mugs on the rack! They are made in France, and are a lovely deep purple. I like these too!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Our Anniversary Blend is wonderful this year! Really nice, bold, rounded flavours, subtle on the spice, and heavy on the syrup notes. It’s really a coffee you want in your home this fall.

Look! The siren is waving at you!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Speaking of Anniversary, I got another chance to get my hands on the chalk markers and write up the limited edition coffee sign. Since all the signs in this promo are made to look like chalkboards, I tried to make my letters match.

Yeah, that didn’t go so well.

But anyway, here’s how it turned out:

This took me an hour. Please don't laugh!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Yeah...I never claimed to be an artist, but I couldn't resist trying.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

We have new gift cards too! I’m in love with them- might get them just for fun.

Green Mugs!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Wild Geese Flying....

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

We are even promoting some of our new drinks!

Pumpkin Spice and Toffee Mocha

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Cute 'lil sign!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

So, let’s talk drinks for a minute!

Pumpkin Spice:

It’s back! This is not a drink I enjoy, but it is a perennial favourite with most of our customers. They want us to carry it all year long. I tell them that they will get sick of it!

You can have this drink many ways:

PSCR: Pumpkin Spice, no espresso

PSL: Pumpkin Spice Latte- hot or cold

PSF: Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino

PSCF: Pumpkin Spice Creme Frappuccino (no coffee)

Too, try adding a few pumps of chai to it- you’ll make a Pumpkin Pie latte! Another thing I suggest is adding it to White Mocha; sweetens it up a bit.

Toffee Mocha:

TM: Toffee Mocha Latte

TMF: Toffee Mocha Frappuccino

TMCF: Toffee Mocha Creme Frappuccino (no coffee)

I like this syrup for making hot chocolates, personally. It’s a little less sweet than adding Toffee Nut syrup to our Mocha, and it’s creamier and butterier to boot. Just think about a melted Heath Bar…yum!

Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate: IT’S BACK!

This is severely under-promoted, but our wonderful hot chocolate from two years ago has returned! Try it made with the Toffee Mocha syrup instead of the Mocha/Toffee Nut combo- it’s soooo much better! Love that topping- sweet and salty.

So, those are the most important things I can think to share with you all. Go see all this stuff in person when you can- the pictures don’t do it justice. Have a Happy Fall!

My cute, new, teeny-tiny teacup!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

8 responses to “The Smell of Starbucks In the Fall

  1. Wongster says:

    Great post and thanks for the tour! It looks like you got way more merch than we did. I like your chalk boards!

  2. Melody says:

    I love this blog post! Somehow I never noticed those mugs have suede handles! Weirdness, totally. I’m not a huge promo beverage fan, but I tend to try different syrups mixed with my oatmeal. Gingerbread syrup was delicious in there. Dark cherry is pretty good. I finally tried two pumps of Pumpkin Spice in oatmeal and discovered that it totally overwhelming to the oatmeal. I won’t do that twice.

    Love all the pics. But you didn’t get to draw mugs of a toffee nut latte because of the paper marketing signs attached to the chalk boards! Bummer. I like barista art.

    Thanks again for the post!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I was sad that I didn’t get to try my hand at drawing the big chalk board- the signs are cute, but oh-so-boring. Can’t imagine the pumpkin spice in oatmeal, but I’m thinking that the toffee mocha might be good…hmmm, snack tomorrow night! :) The suede mugs are interesting- I actually think that they’d make nice soup bowl- they are shaped more like a bowl than a mug. But overall, it’s a fun rollout this time. :) -MissW

  3. Very fun post! I always love the Starbucks merch, and the displays never disappoint! I know one thing, I’m gonna have to get my hands on those giftcards.

    And I kind of dig those weird suede-handled cups! Hehe.

    :-)

    • Thanks! Aren’t those gift cards the cutest things? I have to load/register them just for the fun of it! The cups are…just interesting. We’re not sure what to make of them yet. ;) -MissW

  4. Catherine says:

    mmm….i am SO jazzed for those fall drinks. as soon as it gets cold enough out, i’m trying one of those toffee drinks! although i have to say the gingerbread latte around Christmas is my favorite :D

Leave a Reply

