Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

5.5.2010

on 5 May 2010

So, here’s my reasoning. 5+5=10. And 5+5+10=20. Therefore, 5.5.2010 deserves a special post. (I totally forgot that today is Cinco de Mayo- but that doesn’t concern my non-Spanish speaking self.) To mark this mathematically interesting day, I thought that I’d do some lists: my top 5 movies of all time, my 5 worst movies of all time, my 20 books that you MUST read, and my top 10 songs of all time. Let the counting begin!

Best Movies:

5. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

4. Two Week’s Notice

3. A&E Pride and Prejudice

2. Shadow of a Doubt

1. Relative Values

Worst Movies:

5. Murder, He said.. Interminable and insipid. To make a bad situation worse, it’s got this one character that sings a goofy little song through the movie, which gets stuck in your head for, say, ten years and counting.

4. The Long, Long Trailer. More like the long, long movie. I love Lucy and Desi, but this stretched my fandom too far.

3. You Can’t Take It With You. This might be a wonderful movie; unfortunately I can’t get past the fact that EVERYONE HAS TO YELL ALL THE TIME.

2. Life with Father. This is one uniquely talented director. He was given a great book, wonderful actors, and still he managed to produce a movie that sends me around the bend to even think about watching it again. Trust me, just read the book. You can thank me later.

1. It’s A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World. Five words: four hours of Ethel Merman. *hits head repeatedly into a brick wall*

Must-Read Books:

20. The Westing Game

19. The Tempest

18. The Cellist of Sarajevo

17. Elsie Dinsmore

16. Fahrenheit 451

15. Beautiful Girlhood

14. Destination Unknown

13. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

12. Jack and Jill

11. Rose in Bloom

10. Hamlet

9. Macbeth

8. Great Expectations

7. Little Women

6. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

5. Northanger Abbey

4. The Man in the Brown Suit

3. The Chronicles of Narnia

2. Lord of the Rings

1. Jane Eyre

Best Songs Ever!

10. Haven’t Met You Yet- Michael Buble.

9. Touchdown Turnaround- Hellogoodbye

8. I Can Only Imagine- MercyMe

7. Santa Maria- Gotan Project

6. Softly As I Leave You- Michael Buble

5. When It All Is Said and Done- Robin Mark

4. Hey There Delilah- Plain White Tees

3. I’m Not That Girl- Wicked, The Musical

2. Home- Michael Buble

1. Held- Natalie Grant

3 responses to “5.5.2010

  1. […] Robin Mark … Miss Woodhouse's Musings – https://misswoodhousemusings.wordpress.com/ Read the Complete Article blog comments powered by Disqus var disqus_url = […]

  2. mum says:

    What…no “Sneakers?” No “Rebecca?” no “Swaybish Moon?” Otherwise, a most impressive list! I trained you well!

    Love you too much!
    Mum

    • Rebecca! Sneakers! How did I forget! I’ll have to do some more formal lists over the summer. Hey, if you draw up some lists of your own, I’ll do a comparison post…. :D

      Love you bunches- Emma

Leave a Reply

