Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Twelve Hours and Counting….

on 19 April 2010

Due to a death in my Starbucks family, I offered quite willingly to pick up a shift so that my coworker could have the weekend off to process and recover. Remember, I said quite willingly.

However, a few red flags should fly up right about now. Firstly, it was a Saturday shift. Secondly, I was closing that night for five hours. Thirdly, it was a seven hour shift. Fourthly, it was an opening shift. Wait, what???

Yes, I said opening shift. Never let it be said that I don’t *heart* my coworkers.

Anyway, I really was quite willing to do it, and help things move along. Remember, willingly. Just so we’re clear.

So now, here’s what my fun little day looked like!

3am– Dozed off for a little bit of sleep in preparation for the day.

3:30– Already back up and getting ready for work.

4– Grabbed my two Starbucks doubleshots that I bought the previous day. Downed the four shots while eating and sandwich and talking to Dad (he couldn’t sleep either).

5– Pre-opening at the store. Unfortunately, the new manager moved everything around the day before, so shift and I can’t find half the things we need. Two sets of customers drive up at 5:02 and 5:04- sorry folks; too early!

5:30– Open for business! Kinda quiet.

6– Did I say quiet? I meant that we have customers in the store, but few enough that I can handle them on my own in between doing prep work. Lots of iced coffee and Americanos.

7:30– Manager comes on as our third person for the morning. Of course, we get SLAMMED!!!!!!

8– Slammed and barring.

8:30– Still slammed to the door, still on bar

9– Slammed to the door, still on bar.

9:30– Slammed to the door, still on bar.

10– Slammed to the door, still on bar.

10:30– Slammed to the door, still on bar.

11– Slammed to the door, still on bar! However, coworker comes on early to help out.

11:30– LUNCH BREAK!!!!!!! No barring for 30 minutes!!!!!!!

12– Back on floor; grab my till before anyone can throw me back on bar.

12:30– Supposed to clock off; instead get caught ringing, fixing the pastry case, and catching up on dishes.

1pm– First shift down!

2– Home to rest my feet for a bit.

3– Went to the phone store to get my new phone in preparation of my busy week.

4– Came home to show my new phone off to Mum.

5– Left for work to meet up with a regular customer. We talked books for a bit.

5:30– Clocked on for round two!

6– Back on bar, but really rocking. Able to handle drinks and ringing on my own without breaking a sweat. Yay for practice!

6:30– Solely barring at this point; also running into the back to wash dishes and help out the precloser.

7pm– Hit the wall. Staring off into the distance….

7:30– If I have to make one more something-chip-frappuccino I might scream!!!!!

8– Took a ten, had a croissant. That helped a bit. No longer want to kill customers for merely walking in the door.

8:30– Still barring. Not thrilled to still be steaming milk, but coping much better now.

9– Sent the precloser home due to slowish business. Did lots of dishes.

9:30– Barred some more. Did lots of dishes.

10– Closed for business! Did lots of dishes and ran around with the shift like a chicken with its head cut off.

10:30– OFF!!!!! Clocked off on time too. We rock!

11– Home to rest a bit and chat with Mum and Dad.

12– To sleep, at last!

So there you have it- my very exciting day! I’m so glad that I have Sundays off; I don’t think that I could have gone back into work.

Leave a Reply

