Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Ring Around the Rosy

on 26 March 2010

Last week I jumped the gun and posted a picture of my “pocketful of” Posy. So this week, I have to post something about rings for Photo Friday. At least, that’s my excuse for posting this photo.

The truth is that my laptop is currently on its way to Sony to have the fan fixed. Do you know the sound of ice in a blender? That’s what my laptop sounds like. It’s not good.

Anyway, the laptop is gone, and with it all my current “artsy” pictures. However, I had this picture on my iPod so I emailed it to myself. There’s an¬†existential activity for you!

Boring intro aside, I do love this photo. The bottom ring was given to me by my parents when I turned 15. The top ring is one I found for myself when I turned 21. I wear them both everyday, and get lots of compliments on them both.

The picture is a result of my playing around with the manual focus on my camera. The result, surprisingly, was a nice, sharp picture. The black and white effect only adds to the contrast.

As usual, click on the picture to see it full size (you really want to do this!). Have a wonderful weekend!

And because I’m a bookworm:

Three Rings for the Elven-kings under the sky,
Seven for the Dwarf-lords in their halls of stone,
Nine for Mortal Men doomed to die,
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie. –J.R.R. Tolkien

Leave a Reply

