Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Yellow

on 12 March 2010

It’s Photo Friday! This week is another flower picture, as you can see. Any help at identification would be much appreciated. (Click on the picture to see it full size!)

What am I?

I have this picture set as my iPod screensaver. I love the colour contrast, and the unusual flecks of orange on the flower itself. So there you have it! Feel free to leave any comments, or to tell me what kind of flower this is.

Update: with many, many thanks to John, this picture has now been identified as a Canna Lily. After extensive Google searching…erm, research, I concur!

5 responses to “Yellow

  1. John says:

    A bit hard to tell but a Canna Lily I do believe. related to the Ginger family.

  2. John says:

    Hardto tell without seeing the leaves better, but I believe it’s a Canna Lily.

  3. Hey there Miss Woodhouse!

    Wonderful blog. And yes, that’s a Canna Lily, specificly of the Italian family.

    We call them “Capachos” where I come from, and can be found in yellow, red and pink-orange varieties. There is a smaller one that is light orange with red spots in the center -and very cute-, but it is hard to find.

    I have a few red ones right by my house’s door and under the living-room’s window. They are properly chaperoned by their older sisters of the yellow variety, too. Will post some of those in my blog when I get the chance.

    • Thanks for the confirmation! I’m so envious that you have these readily within eyesight. I love the way the petals overlap- so delicate. I can’t wait to see your pictures! -MissW

Leave a Reply

