Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Simple

on 5 March 2010

It’s photo Friday! You know what that means- now is the time that I tell a Starbucks story… wait, that’s not right. Let me try again.

It’s photo Friday! Today I wanted to share a picture from the botanical gardens nearby. I had the chance this fall to spend a full day wandering around the gardens for the first time, taking a few hundred pictures. Most of them are pretty good, too. This particular picture comes from the end of the day. The sun was setting, and rain clouds started to fill up the sky. The garden, which had been so sunny and bright all day, now looked drab and dreary. Trust me, a drab pond looks even drearier in the twilight.

What to do, what to do? Solution: switch to black and white shots. That improved the overall tone immensely. What had been shades of drab now turned into clearly defined shades of gray. I really love how the foreground detail morphs into a blurred background. Wish I knew how I managed that! In all though, a nice ending to a nice day.

As always, click on the picture to see it full size- the detail is better. If I put it up that big on here, it would take forever to load the page!

Flower in the Pond

Leave a Reply

