Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Between a Rock and a Hard Jetty

on 19 February 2010

Okay, so I thought that I would try out a new thing- Photo Friday. As you may have read in my “About Me” section, I love to take photographs, and sometimes they even turn out really well! Without further ado, here’s this week’s photo (click to view full size):

Between a rock and a hard jetty.

Okay, I love this shot for many, many reasons.

1. It was taken at a friend’s riverfront estate on a beautiful day. The lighting comes from the sunset reflecting off the river.

2. That shell had been in the same place for hours. When we first arrived it was mere centimeters above the waterline. I thought that it was pretty, but the dirty water detracted from it. This shot was much cleaner.

3. This shot was impromptu. For all the times I frame, focus, and polish a shot, this was literally a point and click. We were getting ready to leave, I glanced down, saw that the shell was still there, haphazardly snapped a photo for fun, and didn’t realize ’til later what a great shot it was.

4. The detail blows my mind (again, I can’t take full credit- it was a lucky shot). The ridges on the shell, the moss on the shell, the snail still in the shell (look closely!), and the way that the sharp focus of the center blurs as the picture spreads outwards is amazing to me.

So there you have it, my first Photo Friday! Thoughts, suggestions, tips, or tricks? Leave them in the comments!

3 responses to “Between a Rock and a Hard Jetty

  1. epicswife says:

    Quite beautiful !!! Thanks for sharing !

Leave a Reply

