Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Snow!

on 1 February 2010

This is my obligatory post on snow. Not that I’m a big fan of the cold wet stuff myself, but seeing as how we’re all having trouble remembering the last time our city was covered in white, a few words are in order.

First- that whole “no two snowflakes are alike” thing is a myth. I swear I totally saw twins out there, but I couldn’t grab my camera in time.

Second- snow makes people do stupid things. Case in point- I never wander around my neighbourhood. I just don’t. However, throw a few snowflakes in the mix and I’m tramping around like it’s the most natural thing in the world. Because of this, my friends and I had a snow ball fight in a complete stranger’s driveway. It rocked!

Third- snow fall reveals what kind of people we work for. Chick-fil-a decided to close the night before the storm hit. Starbucks had employees in at 4:30 am as usual before letting them out around 3. The state schools decided to close down today, and sent out a text to let students know. My university finally decided to close down, but no text message- just a hard to find news article.

By the way, this is the same university that woke us all up at 5am the first day of spring break last year to tell us that classes (that we weren’t having) were delayed two hours (which didn’t matter because we weren’t having class- spring break and all that). Oh yes, and not just one text, but texts and phone calls until we acknowledged receipt. More than one phone was hurled across a room that morning; but I digress.

Fourth- snow days are uninspiring on weekends. Just thought I’d point that out.

Fifth- impromptu snow parties are fun. Add fire, cookies, and coffee and you have a winning day!

Sixthly, enjoy some of my pictures, because it really was a nice change from the norm.

My backyard:

Back fence 5-6″ deep in snow:


Well, we did have a lot of fun. Enjoy whatever winter weather you have right now, and snow long until next time!

(You didn’t really think that I could make it without one bad snow pun, did you?)

Leave a Reply

