Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Helping or Hindering?

on 20 January 2010

Lately I’ve been wondering exactly where the fine line between helping people and hindering them in their personal growth is. I get frustrated when people are supposed to do something, and then they don’t. So, do I continue to poke, prod, and remind them about their commitments? Or do I just grit my teeth and complete the project myself just so it gets done?

Both tactics have their pros and cons. To continually be reminding people is stressful for me, and annoys them. On the other hand, this does give them the opportunity to step up and complete the project. I may have a heart attack, but at least they get the satisfaction of a job well done.

To do the project myself also stresses me out, but the job is done to my liking. The only bad thing is that the person with the “responsibility” doesn’t have to follow through with their commitment. While this might help them out in the short term, it doesn’t teach them to manage their time and responsibilities.

Both plans stress me out, and we all know that I can’t stand any more stress then I already have. I’m not sure if there is an alternative that doesn’t cause stress. If there is one out there, I’d love to know what it is.

Tonight, I chose the latter plan of attack. I must admit that I found myself growing very annoyed to have to do this on top of all the other work I have this week, but in the end it felt good. The project is done, I’m set up better for the next time I have to do it, and I can sleep well tonight knowing that all is well.

Still, it doesn’t seem very fair. Welcome to the real world, I guess!

Leave a Reply

