Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Wipeout

on 2 December 2009

No one has ever mentioned how up to date with the news this blog is. Oh, yeah. That’s because it isn’t!

I love talking about current events, but sometimes it takes a while for my brain to fully process them to the point where I can write out something halfway logical. This particular topic has been on my mind for almost a month now- it is time to write out my thoughts.

Have you ever thought about being on a reality TV show? I have; I’m not going to lie. I’ve always wondered if I’d make it at all.

Could I sing my heart out? Stay on the island? Avoid being fired? Renovate a home? Make it over four, red, overinflated, giant balls without falling into the surrounding water?

A man last month wasn’t able to find out if he could do that last task. He was all ready to compete on the ABC water sensation “Wipeout”; he went through the vetting process, medical checkups, and prize eligibility screening. He was all set to push himself to the physical limit in hopes of winning money.

He never got the chance. Within moments of starting his run, knee pain stopped him. A few hours later, he was dead. The best I know at this point is that the unusual activity triggered a dormant condition rare enough to be missed in the health screening process.

He was very young. He was very much a newly-wed.

I’m not criticizing him for wanting to enter the competition. After all, hundreds of people have entered and been just fine. But I can’t help but wonder, was it worth it? If we could talk to him right now, would he tell us that was the way he wanted to go, with a splash? (Sorry, bad pun.) If he knew it would kill him, would the competition have been so important?

We all chase after goals and dreams. Some are good, some are necessary, and some we do just to make things interesting. Some of them will help us, some will further us, and some will kill us. When we see someone do something without consequences, we tend to jump in ourselves, not considering that the effect on us may be different.

Proverbs 12:14 warns us “there is a way which seems right to a man, but its end is the way of death” (NASB). Let us be careful to not get so caught up in the flash and excitement of events that we forget to see whether what we want to do is God’s will for our lives.

Again, I’m not saying that this man was thoughtless or foolish to do what he did- obviously that was the course his life was to take. But it seems a waste, and it is heartbreaking. We should be aware to not run off and follow the crowd, the prizes, or the goals. Instead, seek God. Let Him direct your path so that when you leave this earth, you die on His terms, and not because of the ways of man.

3 responses to “Wipeout

  1. mum says:

    Life is precious….it is a gift from God, every day. Seems to me, if we are going to risk our lives, we should do it for the Gospel. I’m just sayin’….

    from a mother’s heart,
    love you!

    • I agree with you absolutely! There’s so little time here on earth, that the things we do should have an eternal aspect to them. Well, there’s another post needing to be written. Love you too! :)

  2. Debbie DeGroff says:

    What a waste of a promising life: marriage, children…future. So many things we do seem so important but don’t have much value in the eternal scheme of things. It reminds me to check what I do out with God. Enjoyed your post.

    Love,
    Debbie

Leave a Reply

