Miss Woodhouse's Musings

…about life, the universe, and everything. Don't panic!

Frustration

on 27 October 2009

Everyone deals with frustration throughout life. Normally it is somewhat bearable, but for me this past week the frustration of life has gotten out of hand. It feels as though no matter where I turn I’m being stonewalled. Businesses open or close an hour later than I thought they did, people who are supposed to help me with things turn up sick, people whose help I need disappear, countless forms are filled out for no real reason at all, and the hoops I jump through lead… nowhere.

I’d feel petty if it weren’t for the assertion that this happens to everyone- enough to warrant the creation of the phrase “hope deferred makes the heart sick”. (Proverbs 13:12) Everyone has certain expectations of how life is supposed to go on a day-to-day basis, and most of the time what is expected is not unreasonable. When this happens, the temptation is to lose hope. Hopelessness leads to frustration, which leads to despair, which leads to apathy. Apathy is a dangerous place to let yourself live because it gives you no motivation to start hoping for better things again.

Take the way tonight unfolded for example. My club was to hold an event, but by the way things went in trying to arrange it the past two weeks I didn’t have much hope that it would go well. So, when I arrived to a dissembled meeting area and then only one person showed up, I was (and am) frustrated. Now, I can choose to fall into despair and become apathetic towards the future of the club. Or, I can choose to not dwell on it, think about other things for the next few days, and start thinking of fresh approaches next week. For the good of the club (and my heart), I think that the latter is a better choice.

So, in the words of The Incredibles, I must “pull myself together!”

Leave a Reply

